Dream Journal – 01/28/2017

I dreamed that me and Billy went to Ed Kowalczyk’s house. “Who is Ed Kowalczyk?” you may be asking. You remember that band called Live from the mid-90’s? They had that song “Lightning Crashes” that got overplayed on every radio station for a solid year? I’m not dogging the band — every song on their first three albums was goddamn amazing, “Lightning Crashes” included. But Ed was the singer, is what I was getting at.

Anyway, I dreamed Billy and I went to his house for dinner. It was the most “basic” house in the world; just this typical little single story brick number at the end of a cul de sac, with white walls and beige furniture and home decor that would look equally in place in a doctor’s office waiting room.

His wife was this really quiet blond lady, with the personality of cardboard, and they had three daughters between the ages of 12 and 17 that were the spitting image of their mother.

But he had three house rabbits, so I spent most of the visit on the floor, playing with them! They all had really long ears, like Dutch breeds. One was all white, one was tan like Princess Bubblegum, and one was black and white. The tan one was my favorite cuz she kept kissing my face and climbing on my lap and running circles around me.

I don’t know why my brain felt the need to shoehorn an alt-rock singer from my teens and his boringly normal suburban family into this dream when it was literally just about me playing with rabbits on an ugly carpet for a couple of (dream) hours, but it stuck in my head.

Leave a comment